10.9. Endowed Professorships and Lecture Series

  • Frances I. Eeraerts Professor of Foreign Language: This professorship was established in 1997 by a bequest from the estate of Miss Eeraerts, a non-traditional student who graduated in 1976.
  • The Vera A. Milner Director of the Center for Global Education (CGE): Funding was established in 1988 by the Vera A. Milner Charitable Trust. The trustees of the Milner Trust, Belle Turner Lynch, class of 1961, Virginia Turner Rezetko and Vera Turner Wells, created the fund in honor of their aunt, Vera A. Milner.
  • Manning M. Pattillo, Jr., Professor of Liberal Arts: This professorship was established in 1991 through the generosity of Miriam H. and John A. Conant and the John H. and Wilhelmina D. Harland Charitable Foundation in honor of Dr. Pattillo, the 13th president of Oglethorpe from 1975 to 1988. The professorship honors the work of an outstanding faculty member. A new Pattillo Professor is chosen every two years.
  • The Mack A. Rikard Chair in Business Administration and Economics, and the Rikard Lecture Series: The Mack A. Rikard Chair supports (on a rotating basis) a scholar in Business Administration or Economics, advancing Mr. Rikard’s own interest in the free enterprise system. The chair also coordinates the Rikard Lecture Series, aimed at helping college students understand current issues in business. Established in 1991 by Mr. Rikard, a 1937 alumnus and an honorary degree recipient, the lectures bring to campus guest speakers who are recognized leaders in their professions. The series is intended to foster in students a particular appreciation of economics.